In n' out is Overrated?

Not so fast...

Last night, me and some buddy’s went to In-and-out to get some grub

There is a lot of “rave” about the place.

And after going last night here is why I think that is:

It was Packed!

When we arrived, there was not an empty seat in the building, aside from the end of a bench that could hold 2 people, but I digress…

AND, the drive through line went around the block.

There had to be 30-40 cars

Despite this, we got out of there in give or take, 50 minutes.

That alone is impressive, but its not all.

You see, there are only 3 items on the menu.

Cheeseburger, fries and two flavors of shakes.

Compare that to other fast food joints who have a shopping list of things to pick from.

This small selection keeps people moving fast and no one suffers from “not knowing what they want.'“

The second thing is the execution in the kitchen.

It looked more like a ballet then a fast food kitchen.

There were 12ish people moving in complete harmony with one another.

My guess is that the layout of the kitchen had been designed for this.

The third thing is the food itself.

Its not a Gordon Ramsey level, 3 Michelin start meal…but… its no idiot sandwich.

I give credit to the thousand island sauce.

And the fact that you get the exact same thing every time = reliable

That is what I noticed in the 50 minutes I was there

  • Short, efficient menu

  • Harmony in the kitchen

  • And a product that’s worth the time

Look at that G, reading all the way to the end

I ought to give you a kiss

Thank you for reading and let me know what you think by replying to this email or messaging me on X @johnferreboeuf.

And until next time,

Peace,