How I Keep Laser Focused in a World of Distraction.

When it comes to focus…

like almost everyone in my generation, it‘s an aspect of my life that needs A LOT of work.

With a never ending flow of headlines and a plethora of dings, beeps, pops, and boops staying focused seems harder then every.

Here are some things that I do to increase my focus in a world of constant distraction:

#1 Eating better

This is Probably the most important one. Which also means its the hardest for most people.

I eat as little carbs and sugars as I can throughout the day (especially in the morning).

I call them “Brain foggers“. Those treats and tiny meals like white bread, candy, chips, pasta etc. none of it before 12 pm on most days.

This keeps me alert and motivated while I do those key morning tasks.

#2 Putting my phone in another room

Understand that your phone is designed to distract you.

Every app is constantly demanding your attention.

24/7, seven days a week.

Its how they make money.

Now I use my phone as a timer so instead of putting it in another room I turn off all notifications and slide it under my desk.

That is where it is right now as I write this to you.

Turning off notifications off and putting it out of sight is the very least you can do.

#3 Realizing the Importance of the Work

Often times, I get distracted because the work is boring or monotonous but it still needs to get done…

So before I start working I think about exactly how important what I am doing is.

Take writing this letter as an example:

  • Its practice so I will get better at writing

  • Hopefully it helps you, the reader, and builds good will

  • Its a way of organizing my thoughts

  • Its also a form of discipline

4 or 5 good reasons and i’m beginning to cook.

After that, I mentally understand that getting distracted isn’t as important as what I am doing, so I naturally don’t do it.

If you cant find any good reasons then maybe you are doing the wrong kind of work.

As I mentioned, I hope this helped you and if you have any questions please, DM me on X @johnferreboeuf

Have a blessed day full of focus and intention.

Peace out,