Dogs and Lampposts...

Recently I was asked “what do a dog and a lamppost have in common?“

I thought about it for 14.33 seconds and came to the conclusion that both a dog and a lamppost…

ARE RELIABLE

Every time you come home a dog sprints, full of excitement and happiness, to meet you at the door.

Every time you are out for a nighttime walk the lampposts light up the streets.

What is the point of this?

This a strategy I use when I am struggling to “be creative“.

I call it forced comparisons.

You take two completely unrelated objects (like a dog and a lamppost)

And you come up with some sort of similarity.

Also, if I want to write a post about copywriting or any other subject and I haven’t got any ideas, I will used forced comparisons.

It has helped me a lot and I hope it helps you.

As always, you are 100% free to ask me anything.

You can DM me on X or you can reply to this email, and I will do my best to answer the question.

Have a wonderful day.

Until next time,

Peace,